MEN OF THE STONES
An invitation to the talk on
Oakham Lordshold in 1787 – Tim Clough
The Lecture will be held at The George of Stamford Business Centre on Tuesday 9th February at 7:30pm
Members Admission – £5 Non-Members Admission – £7.50
A crumped document found in a cupboard at Burley on the Hill turned out to be a very fine map of the manor of Oakham Lordshold, drawn by William Cullingworth in 1787. Not only that, but a series of four field survey books in the Finch family archives could then be identified as belonging with the map, because they list all the occupiers of the Lordshold properties at that date, as well as information about changes of tenant over the new few years.
These documents are extremely important because they reveal much about the appearance and layout of the town of Oakham – even though they cover just one of the town’s two manors – before enclosure of the parish took place in the early part of the nineteenth century.
The field books in particular contain much information about the inhabitants of the town, where they lived, what type of property they occupied and how extensive it was, including houses, yards and outbuildings as well as closes and land in the then open fields. Rental values are also given.
This talk draws together all these details, ranging from the layout of the roads and watercourses to an identification of tenants, tradesmen and others who are mentioned both in the field books and in the Universal British Directory of 1791.
The map, which gives the earliest detailed plan of Oakham known so far, can also be used to suggest successive patterns of defended enclosures centred on the church and castle in the early medieval period, which were disguised as a result of the later enclosure of the parish.
These documents combine to form a very valuable resource for the study of Oakham and its inhabitants at the end of the eighteenth century.
Tim Clough was Curator of the Rutland County Museum and Oakham Castle from 1974 to 2002, and is the Rutland Local History & Record Society’s Honorary Editor. Educated at Uppingham School, he has a degree in prehistoric archaeology from the University of Edinburgh and is a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London. He has written and edited many books and articles on archaeology, local history and numismatics. His long association with the County of Rutland has left him with a keen interest in and appreciation of the country’s rich heritage, and he continues to delve into its past and to research its history.